Selection of the 88 Finalists in 2020 for the Loran Award

This past autumn, 5,174 students from over 1,400 schools applied for the 2022 Loran Award, while beginning their second full academic year navigating ongoing disruptions due to the COVID-19 pandemic. We are incredibly grateful to all of the volunteers, teachers, and educators who support these exceptional young people throughout the selections process, especially this year. Despite the challenges of the past year and half, Canadian youth continue to demonstrate resilience, a passion for helping their communities, and hold a genuine hope for a brighter tomorrow. 

We invited the top 6% of applicants to participate in our online semi-final interviews held throughout November and December. Through the expertise and generosity of hundreds of volunteers, we interviewed 335 semi-finalists, seeking to identify the qualities we look for in Loran Scholars: demonstrated perseverance when faced with adversity, kindness, a sense of curiosity, and sparks of leadership potential.

We are delighted to announce the 90 Loran Finalists who hail from coast to coast to coast — our largest group of finalists to date. These graduating high school and Cegep students listed below will take part in our virtual National Selections in February and March. We invite you to join us in celebrating the 2022 finalists, and we look forward to revealing who among them will make up our newest class of Loran Scholars.

Since 1988, the Loran Scholars Foundation has provided more than $57 million in undergraduate awards to promising young Canadians on the basis of character, service, and leadership. The Loran Award is valued at $100,000 over four years, comprised of a $10,000 living stipend and up to $10,000 in tuition waiver per year from any one of our 25 partner universities, one-on-one mentorship, up to $14,000 in funding for tri-sectoral summer work experiences, annual gatherings, and a weeklong orientation expedition with Outward Bound. Finalists not selected as Loran Scholars are eligible to receive a $5,000 finalist award tenable at any Canadian public university.

2022 Loran Finalists

Maryam Abdella

Kenner Collegiate and Vocational Institute
Peterborough, ON

Nain Abdi
Sir Wilfrid Laurier Collegiate Institute
Toronto, ON

Maryam Ali
​​Edmonton Islamic Academy
Edmonton, AB

Rooj Ali
River East Collegiate Institute
Winnipeg, MB

Mahdi Azarmi
Sir Winston Churchill High School
Calgary, AB

Alexa Bailey
Sir Charles Tupper Secondary
Vancouver, BC

Eliot Bergeron
École Sainte-Anne
Fredericton, NB

Luka Bordeleau
Cégep de Drummondville
Drummondville, QC

Kayleigh Bowes
Citadel High School
Halifax, NS

Donovan Burt
Bluefield High School
Cornwall, PE

Georgia Campbell
St. Patrick High School
Rosslyn, ON

Ila Campbell
Valleyview Secondary
Kamloops, BC

Natasha Carlton
Claremont Secondary School
Victoria, BC

Hannah Chen
Havergal College
Richmond Hill, ON

Kai Chow
W.J. Mouat Secondary School
Abbotsford, BC

Shania Dalili
Champlain Regional College (St. Lambert)
La Prairie, QC

Tin Dao
Queen Elizabeth Secondary School
Surrey, BC

Victor Deng
Semiahmoo Secondary
Surrey, BC

Jean-Simon Desrochers
Cégep de Chicoutimi
Saguenay, QC

James Drover
Holy Heart High School
St. John’s, NL

Lucas Dubelt
New Myrnam School
Myrnam, AB

Rafael Escalante
Collège de Maisonneuve
Montréal, QC

Erica Firouzbehi
Innisdale Secondary School
Wasaga Beach, ON

Ava Fitzgerald
Goderich District Collegiate Institute
Goderich, ON

Sofie Fournier
Collège catholique Samuel-Genest
Ottawa, ON

Darquise Frappier
École secondaire du Sacré-Coeur
Verner, ON

Émilia Gagné
Collège Lionel-Groulx
Saint-Rémi, QC

Jérémie Gaudreault
Cégep de Sainte-Foy
Québec, QC

Cole Gauthier
Rothesay Netherwood School
Saint John, NB

Zaneb Ghfar
Calgary Islamic Private School
Calgary, AB

Jack Gillies
Orangeville District Secondary School
Mono, ON

Mathilde Gosselin
Cégep de Victoriaville
Plessisville, QC

Audrey Guo
Sir John A Macdonald Secondary School
Waterloo, ON

Maximillian Hannah
École Ballenas Secondary
Parksville, BC

Connor Harding
Rockridge Secondary School
Bowen Island, BC

Madeline Hatrick
Laura Secord Secondary School
St. Catharines, ON

Jessica Henderson-Tiroch
Cégep de l’Outaouais
Gatineau, QC

Aishwarya Heran
​​Prince of Wales Mini School
Vancouver, BC

Kai Hollett
​​Dartmouth High School
Dartmouth, NS

Alexane Houle
École secondaire publique Mille-Îles
Kingston, ON

Bronte Ibbotson
Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON

Anna Irwin
Quluaq School
Clyde River, NU

Sarah Janes
Stephenville High School
Port au Port East, NL

Cloé Jenneau
Cégep Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC

Wadii Karfali
Champlain Regional College (St. Lambert)
Longueuil, QC

Ravneet Kaur
St. Marguerite d’Youville Secondary School
Brampton, ON

Hilus Keay
Dr. John Hugh Gillis Regional High School
Antigonish, NS

Mahum Khawaja
Donald A Wilson Secondary School
Whitby, ON

Fiona Labonté
École secondaire publique L’Héritage
South Stormont, ON

Kimberly Liang
Lisgar Collegiate Institute
Ottawa, ON

Anne Lin Arghirescu
Marianopolis College
Montréal, QC

Gia Liu
Belmont Secondary School
Victoria, BC

Hannah Liu
Lillian Osborne High School
Edmonton, AB

Alexius Long
Loreburn Central School
Loreburn, SK

Emily Mitchell
Sir Frederick Banting Secondary School
London, ON

Gabrielle Moreau
St. Clement’s School
Toronto, ON

Temwa Mtawali
Mark R. Isfeld Secondary School
Comox, BC

Esther Nakai
Robert Thirsk High School
Calgary, AB

Alexis Noiseux
Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf
Montréal, QC

Olivia O’Driscoll
Leahurst College
Kingston, ON

Megumi Ozawa
Pugwash District High School
Wentworth, NS

Alice Park
École Sainte-Anne
Fredericton, NB

Avery Parkinson
Elmwood School
Ottawa, ON

Emma Patchett
Lambton Central Collegiate and Vocational Institute
Petrolia, ON

Dhyan Patel
Westwood Community High School
Fort McMurray, AB

Justin Patrocinio
Windsor Park Collegiate
Winnipeg, MB

Hannah Prins
Cawthra Park Secondary School
Mississauga, ON

Hannah Qin
Moscrop Secondary School
Burnaby, BC

Ryan Regier
South Huron District High School
Crediton, ON

Cassie Rogers
École Sir John Franklin High School
Yellowknife, NT

Vidhi Ruparel
Bur Oak Secondary School
Markham, ON

AmaturRaheem Salam-Alada
South Carleton High School
Ottawa, ON

Kieran Schmidtke
Lethbridge Collegiate Institute
Lethbridge, AB

Jin Schofield
St. Robert Catholic High School
Richmond Hill, ON

Vansh Sethi
Colonel By Secondary School
Ottawa, ON

Ria Shinde
Westmount Secondary School
Hamilton, ON

Shiven Srivastava
Institut Collégial Vincent Massey Collegiate
Winnipeg, MB

Chloé Stroud
Northumberland Regional High School
Stellarton, NS

Kaia Thauberger
Lumsden High School
Regina Beach, SK

Kaitlyn Tonary
École secondaire publique de La Salle
Ottawa, ON

Gurshabd Varaich
Vincent Massey Secondary School
Windsor, ON

Ehsha Vig
Milliken Mills High School
Markham, ON

Shirley Wang
Oakville Trafalgar High School
Oakville, ON

Lana Wehbeh
J. Clarke Richardson Collegiate
Ajax, ON

Thea Wells
South Kamloops Secondary School
Kamloops, BC

Lilah Williamson
École Alpha Secondary School
Burnaby, BC

Mattias Wong
Pinetree Secondary School
Coquitlam, BC

Brooklyn Wood
Langley Fine Arts School
Fort Langley, BC

Julia Wright
King’s View Academy
Halifax, NS

Eric Yan
Sir Winston Churchill High School
Calgary, AB


Media Contacts

Danielle Sanders, Communications & Community Engagement Manager

Lauryn Kronick, Communications & Community Engagement Officer